Share your drum equipment here...

Views: 165

Replies to This Discussion

At home I have a Tama 4 piece with Sabian cyms. And honestly I love them. During services at our church we have a Roland V-Drum set up, just for the ease of control as far as house mix and what-not. The Rolands are great drums, but I will always think accoustic is the way to go, even though its a bit more trouble to contain and mic.
I am an old school acoustic drummer. I learned to play by listening to CCR and Beatle records on a hi-fi stereo. (editor note: you youngsters can probably find out what a hi-fi stereo is on wikipedia) Once I learned all of Buddy Clifford's and Ringo's licks, I started moving on to others; Charlie Watts, Ginger Baker to name a few. And that's how I got started.

Fast forward to current times now. If you would have told me WAY back then that in 2008, I would be playing an electronic drum set, I would have told you that you were crazy. But low and behold I am. And even thought it hurts a little to say it; I like it. Let me be clear though; NOTHING beats acoustic. But in certain instances and settings, electronic is the way to go. Particularly in a church environment where you have various sizes of buildings that range from cavernous gymnasiums to brick and concrete mega temples. E drums can solve all the problems associated with sound issues that playing in these environments can cause.